Bone Broth

IMG_5271 (1)

Is bone broth a fad? Maybe! But, I don’t care. I have seen tremendous benefits from consuming it on a regular basis. When I was in the midst of deep healing, I had it everyday. Now, I mostly use it for soup (which I make one to two times per week) with the occasional bowl of broth for breakfast. It is something I will enjoy for the rest of my life.

How to make it:

Add bones, water, apple cider vinegar (1-2 tablespoons), salt, and a bay leaf to a crockpot. From there you can be creative. Sometimes I also add rosemary, garlic, thyme, onions, and fish sauce. The bones can be from any animal, as long as the animal is pastured. This is very important. I order my bones online from a local farmer whom I trust. Chicken bones and beef marrowbones are my favorite, but you can use whatever bones you want. I just ordered a bunch of chicken necks and feet from my farmer and I am so excited to use them. Supposedly, they make super gelatinous broth. I usually cook my broth for 48-56 hours. The longer it cooks, the more nutrients are pulled from the bones. Just make sure it’s at least 12 hours. If you are adding vegetables, make sure not to keep them in the crockpot for more than 8 hours, or they can create a bitter taste. Once the broth has been simmering for the desired time, strain and discard the bones. I ladle my broth into empty pickle jars and either freeze or store in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Why it is good for you:

For those who need to heal their bodies, bone broth is a wise option. Bone broth is a rich source of the amino acid glycine. Glycine helps to heal the damage done to our bodies, everything from a gaping wound, to a damaged intestinal lining from an infection or inflammation. Glycine is also very important to our digestive system; it helps to regulate the secretion of gastric acid and the synthesis of bile salts. Bone broth also contains many minerals including calcium, phosphorous, and magnesium. Magnesium is an extremely valuable mineral that most Americans are deficient in. It’s needed for over 300 enzyme reactions in the body. Last but not least, bone broth is rich in collagen and gelatin. It’s great for your hair, skin, nails, and joints.

Note: Eatwild.com can help you find a local farmer. Or check out your local farmers market!

Happy broth making  🙂

E♡

11 thoughts on “Bone Broth

  1. I just found a local farmer on the website that you posted that is SO close to my house!! I’m so happy – I know that even meat from Whole Foods is not always the highest quality. This could literally change my life! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Any recommendations on how to dampen the smell while cooking? I like the sent but others in my house may not and is my only option to run an extension outside with the slowcooker?

    Like

    • I know this is an issue! I used to hate the smell but I got used to it. Iv’e noticed it does smell a lot better when you add onion and garlic. I’m sorry that’s my only advice! Good luck!

      Like

    • Another thought! Using chicken bones creates a much less pungent odor than beef bones. Buy an organic roasted chicken from your grocery store and use the bones for broth after you eat it. I throw mine in the slow cooker with some water and apple cider vinegar and voila! It smells just like chicken noodle soup. Enjoy!

      Like

  3. I just listened to a podcast on bone broth and the two speakers had the opinion that the fats in bone broth get damaged if you cook it too long. They recommend 8 hours. Its hard to know how long to cook it for since there are so many opinions out there!

    Like

    • I definitely don’t agree! The fat is saturated so it should be fine, plus slow cooking doesn’t use super high heat. But I do scrape the fat off the top before eating. I would do what you think is best 🙂 If you decided to only cook for 8 hours I would use a lot less water. Barely cover the bones.

      Like

      • Ok! thanks for your advice. The fat on the top is a little too intense for me anyway so maybe I should just scape it off!

        Like

Leave a comment